Post-partum Body: Week One

There’s a lot of things people will tell you about expecting. They will tell you about the joys, the highs, the lows. The symptoms and the things that can happen to your body. But what people don’t like to talk about or simply don’t share down to over excitement with a newborn is the effects of after birth. What happens in those first few weeks, what your body will look like.

No one tells you that you’ll be all padded up, breast pads, maternity pads, perhaps a bed sheet pad as well as a wound dressing some surgical stockings and non flattering undergarments. And there’s potential for a lot of leaking. Excuse the candid truth.

I’m quite lucky that last time around it didn’t take too long to get back to a size just 3lb over what I was prior to pregnancy. This pregnancy however I have gained a good 3 and a half stone in weight. Compared to just two and a half with Landon. I haven’t had any stretch marks luckily on my tummy despite my bumps being nothing but rather protruding and in no way small.

I’m quite dubious about sharing the loss on social networks like Facebook or twitter because I feel who really cares? Who wants to see my brag about my weight loss post pregnancy. Probably very few, thus on here just the mummies and bloggers who are interested can read about it without having it pushed in their faces.

I’ve had a cesarean section so exercise is off the cards for me for a good 12 weeks. I’m relying on burning up enough calories breast feeding and running after a toddler and the occasional short walk.

20130606-161012.jpg

This was the last bump shot I took on my phone at nearly 39 weeks pregnant.

20130606-161540.jpg

This picture is the morning after giving birth in the hospital. Or day one.

20130606-161642.jpg

This was day two at home.

20130606-161806.jpg

Day three and the shape changes so much!!

20130606-161843.jpg

Day five and it looks much higher like my muscles may actually be pulling together and doing a job!

20130606-161941.jpg

This last image is today’s, day eight! I’m starting to feel less bloated and can’t wait to see what happens in another week or two! I’m anxious as its my wedding next month. But I’m not willing to starve. I’m actually ravenous and constantly snacking burning so many calories breast feeding!!

Xoxo

One thought on “Post-partum Body: Week One

  1. You look incredible Dani!!! So many people wouldn’t post thing and I love and admire that you did! Xxx

Leave a Reply

