Belated post #1 Wyatt/Weightloss Wednesday

This post is a few days late! Eek! However I couldn’t leave you all out of week five with newborn Wyatt. However at week five I’m sure he is losing that whole newborn status.

20130705-224446.jpg

20130705-224506.jpg

20130705-224526.jpg

20130705-224535.jpg

This week I left him for the first time! 😦 just for two hours while I went to a makeshift hen party. I decided against the whole bachelorette thing just out of lack of time really. And inability to get a plethora of different kinds of people together. I couldn’t express enough milk to be sure it would tide him over. Alas! He was left one bottle of formula 😦 I’m not sure why this upsets me so much because Landon was exclusively bottle fed formula milk. But when I look back I can see how he suffered with terrible constipation and a light dose of colic and griping. When wyatt had those first few top ups of formula in the first two days he had terrible wind. Just reminiscent of Landon as a newborn. However to cheer me up about my leaving formula slump a friend told me their little quote which is quite brilliant.

‘look at it this way it’s like champagne and sparkling wine, both [breast milk and formula] will get you drunk but one is undoubtedly tastier and one is just a cheap replica’ Lisa Keech, 2013

And she’s right both do the job. Formula is just a last last resort for us but was what we relied on all the time with Landon. So I didn’t panic. I just knew what he would prefer. The noobs typical. A real man in training. He was fine as traumatising as the two whole hours were for his mummy being away.

He’s growing I can tell. We didn’t make it to weighing. But I’m imagining he’s in the nine pound range now following his growth centile. We will find out for sure on Monday at breastfeeding group!

On that note, it’s still going well. Expressing and feeding contact. I even did it in a massively public place! On a bench in a super busy shopping mall! Brave! I think so! I started out terrified of the thought and today just bolstered up to that bench and got to it. Needs must!

He’s still such a great sleeper only up once between four and five and then down for a few more hours after that. Landon slept his first whole night at around 8/9 weeks so he’s got some beating to do πŸ™‚

I’m going to start taking some fenugreek tablets just to keep my milk supply strong. I’m pretty easy to freak out about levels. It’s peace of mind really. Has anyone used those before?

The wedding is just a few weeks away now so I’m super excited!! Will have to post my essential baby packing guide for vacations

As for my weight loss I’ve actually dropped about 3 pounds this week. I’m guessing from physically chasing Landon around but I haven’t changed my incredibly unhealthy diet or done any exercise. I’m not willing to sacrifice my treats.

Here’s a stomach shot: this is 5 weeks post partum. And yes I have been on the sunbed a few times I’m lucky enough to have my own at home.

20130705-230506.jpg

Till next week! πŸ™‚ xoxo

2 thoughts on “Belated post #1 Wyatt/Weightloss Wednesday

Leave a Reply

